The 30th Annual Bounce Trumpet Awards

This Juneteenth, the Bounce Trumpet Awards will return for its 30th anniversary, celebrating the best in African American excellence and achievement. A beacon to inspire, enlighten and raise the human spirit to its highest potential, the Bounce Trumpet Awards recognizes Black humanitarians who have succeeded against immense odds and augment the richness of our society by striving for the justice and equality of all.

The Trumpets air June 19 at 7:00 PM ET on Bounce. Go to to find Bounce in your area.

30th Trumpet Award Honorees

Warrior of Justice

2022 Honorees

This year’s Warriors of Justice Award honors Rev. Jesse Jackson, Founder/President of the Rainbow PUSH Coalition; Marc Morial, President/CEO of the National Urban League; Derrick Johnson, President/CEO of the NAACP; and Dr. Charles Steele, Jr., President/CEO of the SCLC.

The Warriors of Justice Award honors those institutions (and their leaders) who have been on the front lines fighting for social, political, legal, educational, and economic equality of rights for people of color.
Excellence in Entertainment

Courtney B. Vance

A Harvard scholar and Yale School of Drama-trained actor, Courtney B. Vance’s powerful presence from the stage to television to the silver screen has earned him multiple Emmy Awards, a Tony, Critics Choice and NAACP Image Award, as well as SAG and Golden Globe nominations. Along with wife Angela Bassett, their company, Bassett Vance Productions, is part of a new initiative to give more people of color and women an opportunity to direct made-for-TV movies.

The Excellence In Entertainment Award recognizes an individual for their exceptional achievements in entertainment, having made a tremendous impact with their creative works that have shaped the industry.
Living Legend Award

Stan Lathan

An accomplished producer and one of Hollywood’s most prolific directors of television and film, Stan Lathan continues to lead and mentor new generations of comedic talent, urban storytellers and filmmakers. His directing credits include some of TV’s most successful sitcom pilots, including “Martin,” “Moesha” and “The Steve Harvey Show,” in addition to co-creating one of the most successful comedy franchises in entertainment, the groundbreaking “Def Comedy Jam.”

The Living Legend Award recognizes an individual who has reached an extraordinary level of professional accomplishment and continues to make significant contributions to our nation’s diverse cultural and social heritage.
Rising Star Award

Zaila Avant-garde

In 2021, Zaila Avant-garde became the first African American to win the Scripps National Spelling Bee in its 93rd edition, capturing the title by correctly spelling “Murraya,” a type of tree. It’s only her latest entry into the history books -- she also holds three basketball-related Guinness World Records: the most bounce juggles in one minute with four basketballs, the most basketball bounces in 30 seconds with four basketballs, and is tied for most basketballs dribbled at once.

The Rising Star Award recognizes a young person who is trailblazing and quickly establishing themselves by making a significant impact.
Impact Award

Princess Sarah Culberson

An internationally-known thought leader, artist and educator, Princess Sarah Culberson co-founded the nonprofit “Sierra Leone Rising” alongside brother Hindo Kposowa, which distributed aid during the Ebola outbreak and Covid-19 crisis and continues to raise funds and awareness of issues impacting the nation. Her incredible story was told in “A Princess Found: An American Family, an African Chiefdom, and the Daughter who Connected them All,” and is currently being adapted into a major motion picture.

The Impact Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated tremendous vision, leadership, and innovation that has led to a positive impact on the community.
The Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction

Senator Raphael Warnock

Born one of twelve siblings raised in coastal Georgia, Reverend and Senator Raphael Warnock was elected to the United States Senate in the January 2021 special election runoff. A graduate of Morehouse College, he went on to earn his PhD prior to being ordained in the ministry. For more than 15 years he has served as Senior Pastor at the historic Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta (the youngest ever in that role), the former pulpit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

The Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction recognizes individuals who have succeeded against immense odds, fought for change, and worked to improve the lives of all.
The Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction

Senator Jon Ossoff

A graduate of Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service and the London School of Economics, Jon Ossoff is the senior United States Senator from Georgia. Mentored by civil rights legend and Congressman John Lewis, he has dedicated his career to fighting for the people and exposing the abuse of power, and currently serves on the powerful Senate Judiciary; Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs; Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs; and Rules Committees.

The Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction recognizes individuals who have succeeded against immense odds, fought for change, and worked to improve the lives of all.